Unsolicited Plug

I actually did this last night:

Already a little chipped...

Already a little chipped…

I don’t often paint my fingernails because of the time it takes and the way it makes my house smell for the rest of the day, but I had to try this out.

Yesterday I won a bottle of Honeybee Gardens WaterColors Nail Enamel in a drawing (because I turned in my nutrition worksheet at my Bradley Method Childbirth course). This nail polish doesn’t stink, it’s water-based and it doesn’t have any toluene, dibutyl phthalate, xylene, or formaldehyde, which is wonderful for pregnant ladies because these chemicals can harm unborn babies. It’s supposed to last a long time, and it comes off with rubbing alcohol, vodka, or their special nail polish remover.  The color I used is called Risqué, and although it is not the same as the color swatch on Honeybee Gardens’ website, it is a lovely color (which I wouldn’t call risqué by any stretch). I can’t wait to see if it really lasts a week like they say it will. So far I’m impressed because of the lack of odor and the shininess – natural polishes I have used before seemed oddly matte. I was not asked to review this product, and in fact the manufacturer has no idea who I am, but I just wanted to share my first impressions. I’ll try to remember to add a take about it to my Friday Quick Takes so you can see how it has endured.

This reminds me have a review to write! Oops! Stay tuned.

4 thoughts on “Unsolicited Plug

  1. I stick with the “hard as nails” brand, but only just started doing it– it’s actually saving my nails to the point that I can scritch backs!
    ,
    What does it look like in person? My computer screen is kinda…funky. It looks brown.
    The girls love to have their nails painted– we have bright blue, bright purple and bright pink so far, with a sort of sparkly teal or white for me.

    • It’s not quite brown, I’d say brownish pink. It does look a little streaky, but I assume that’s user error. My nails are always quite hard anyway, so that’s not something I look for in a polish. I don’t like blues or greens, the other bottles of polish I own are red, clear, and light transparent beige.

Leave a Reply

