Promised Whole Wheat Bread Recipe

So, yesterday I was telling you that I make bread.  Read on to see how I do it. You will have to excuse the cellphone photos, my real camera died. Plus, with my cellphone, I can e-mail myself the photos and I don’t have to find a USB cable. I do have to admit that I use my super awesome Breadman breadmaker:

I got it at Goodwill for $8! A good bleaching and it was ready to go.

So, first I get all this stuff together:

1 1/2 cups warm water

1/4 cup honey

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

2 teaspoon salt

3 3/4 cups whole wheat flour

2 tablespoons gluten

2 teaspoons bread machine yeast

First, I pour the water into the bread machine pan. Next, the honey

Then, the butter, which I melted in the microwave for about 25 seconds:

And then the salt.

After that, the flour goes in, making a pile in the middle of the pan:

I sprinkle 2 tablespoons of gluten over the flour. I know a lot of people have problems with gluten, but we don’t, so it is all good. Gluten is a natural derivative of wheat which makes whole wheat bread smoother and less dense.

After the gluten, I make a “well” in the flour and put 2 teaspoons of bread machine yeast into it.

The next part is the part that is so awesome about the Breadman: I close the machine, set it on the dough setting, and hit start. It takes one hour and thirty minutes.

After that, I bake the bread in the oven. First, I prepare the pan by wiping it with a very small amount of olive oil.

Then I take the dough out of the bread machine pan and stretch it.

And roll it into a loaf shape.

Then, I place it the pan, smooth side up, and turn it over. I stretch it a little bit to fit the pan.

And I let it rest while the oven preheats to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

When it gets there, I put the bread in and bake it for 29 minutes. I tried to take a picture of the timer, but it took a few seconds.

When it comes out, it is golden brown and smells like heaven. It sounds a little hollow when you tap the top. I let it cool on a rack. It is easier to slice when it is completely cool, if you can wait that long. It is so yummy when it is still warm, with a little bit of butter…mmm!

I carefully use a large serrated knife to slice the bread. Dropping a slice on the floor is not recommended, but it made Lucy happy.

This loaf was to feed the freezer, so I wrapped it in plastic wrap before I put it in a freezer bag and put it in the freezer.

If I am not freezing it, I will just put it in a freezer bag and put it in the fridge. It has to be refrigerated because unlike most store-bought bread, it has no preservatives.

I love this stuff!

So, what did I learn today?

I learned that it takes a long time to write a blog post about making bread.

3 thoughts on “Promised Whole Wheat Bread Recipe

  1. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes, 6 May 2011 « What did I learn today?

Leave a Reply

