How Does Your Garden Grow?

Right now, I have a bunch of library books at home. I am hoping to learn about growing vegetables so I can grow some good stuff for us (and our pets) to eat.  I have leafed through them all, but I haven’t really read any of them in depth. I do like Smith’s idea of growing vegetables in “self-watering” pots, where the pot has a reservoir of water to draw from rather than having to water them all the time. I have these books:

Harrison, Joanna, and Miranda Smith. The Container Gardener’s Bible: a Step-by-step Guide to Growing in All Kinds of Containers, Conditions, and Locations. Emmaus, PA: Rodale, 2009. Print.

Kramer, Jack. Earthly Delights: Tubs of Tomatoes and Buckets of Beans. Golden, CO: Fulcrum Pub., 1997. Print.

Lanza, Patricia. Lasagna Gardening for Small Spaces: a Layering System for Big Results in Small Gardens and Containers. Emmaus, PA: Rodale, 2002. Print.

McGee, Rose Marie Nichols., and Maggie Stuckey. McGee & Stuckey’s the Bountiful Container: a Container Garden of Vegetables, Herbs, Fruits and Edible Flowers. New York: Workman Pub., 2002. Print.

Mercer, Steve, and Sally Roth. 3 Step Vegetable Gardening. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Creative Homeowner, 2009. Print.

Smith, Edward C. Incredible Vegetables from Self-watering Containers. North Adams, MA: Storey Pub., 2005. Print.

Smith, Edward C. The Vegetable Gardener’s Container Bible. North Adams, MA: Storey Pub., 2011. Print.

Yankee Magazine’s Panty Hose, Hot Peppers, Tea Bags, and More–for the Garden: 1,001 Ingenious Ways to Use Common Household Items to Control Weeds, Beat Pests, Cook Compost, Solve Problems, Make Tricky Jobs Easy, and save Time. Dublin, N.H.: Yankee, 2005. Print.

I don’t mess around–I want to make sure I can get as much information as I can.

My idea is to put the vegetables in pots on a high table in my sunroom, which faces south and which we keep open, but screened, all summer long. I figure this way, I don’t have to defend the plants from as many pests (except my own pets). I have a great and inexhaustible source of organic fertilizer: bunny poop. I just have to figure out the safest way to use it. Somewhere online I read that you can make “compost tea” out of rabbit poop and water and use it to amend the soil for growing…rabbit food. I just hope my enthusiasm doesn’t wane.

Have you ever planted vegetables? Do you have a garden? What tips do you have for a newbie?

Leave a Reply

