Seven Quick Takes Friday

Seven amazing things I still can’t believe I have done:

Seven

I graduated from high school with over a 4.o GPA thanks to honors and AP classes.  I always got good grades, but I couldn’t believe this.

Six

I got a masters degree in library and information science.  It took a lot of hard work and studying.  Studying gets harder when you are an adult.  Now, I just wish I could use my degree.

Five

I was an exchange student in San Luis Potosi, Mexico for six weeks when I was sixteen.

Four

I sang with some other members of my high school chorus and some other high school students at Carnegie Hall on Good Friday, 1996.

Three

I was a Peace Corps Volunteer in Guatemala in 2002 and 2003.  I taught health and hygiene in three rural elementary schools.  I also got to travel around the country a bit and get to know the culture by living with a Guatemalan family.

Two

I went to Italy with my church choir in 2008.  We visited Siena, Florence, Rome, and Assisi. I got to stand where Saints have stood.  I climbed the Holy Steps on my knees.  We sang in several churches.  We went to St. Peter’s Basilica and the Sistine Chapel. We saw Pope Benedict XVI.

One

I met and married my wonderful husband. In the little town where I lived, I wasn’t meeting any single Catholic men.  I went out on a limb and tried catholicmatch.com.  I met B. and we hit it off. We’ll be married two years next month.

Seven Quick Takes is hosted by Jennifer Fulweiler at Conversion Diary. See Jen for more quick takes.

One thought on “Seven Quick Takes Friday

  1. wow, i can relate to a lot of your quick takes …

    my sister has a degree in library and information science … works at a medical library and loves her job.

    i studied in salamance, spain for an entire summer while i was in college.

    in college i set up an interview with the peace corps, but at the last minute i chickened out. i still regret that.

    rome … one of my favorite cities!!!

Leave a Reply

