How he Proposed

I have written about this before, but it’s buried in another post, so I thought I’d quote and elaborate:

It was a Sunday night (October 19, 2008). The whole weekend he had been acting nervous and irritable. We were watching the Red Sox play the Devil Rays. The game was obviously over – my Sox were not going to the World Series. Later, B. said that someone was going to be happy with the outcome of the game- he hates the Red Sox. He asked me what I had planned after work that week. I told him, including the nights I didn’t have plans, and he asked me if I wanted to go shopping on Thursday. Shopping? He said we could pick out an engagement ring for me. I was dumbstruck. Of course I wanted to go shopping. I found out he had been nervous because Saturday morning, he had gone ring shopping, but he didn’t buy a ring yet, because he wanted to make sure I liked the ring. When we did pick it out, the salesman went to do some paperwork, and when he came back, he said “Did you tell her yet?” B. said “Tell her what?” And the salesman said, “That it was the same ring you picked!”

We had been dating for 10 months. I had thought he was going to propose on my birthday, in September. When he didn’t, I wondered how long I would have to wait. I didn’t have to wait long. God heard my prayers.

I was pretty surprised that he asked me to go shopping. We are not really shoppers. But when I found out what it was for, I was all for it.

After we ordered the ring, we had to meet with our pastor, and we set the date for our wedding. We ended up being engaged just about exactly as long as we were required to: we got married on May 16, six months and two weeks after we met with Father.

It seemed like it took forever for the ring to arrive. In actuality, it took less than a month, and I was able to wear it to Maine to my cousin’s wedding on November 22 and show it to all my relatives. I couldn’t stop smiling through the whole trip.

It has been a great couple of years, and I am looking forward to many, many more.

 

Betty Beguiles is hosting an engagement story link-up. Can’t get enough engagement stories? Read more linked at www.bettybeguiles.com.

Leave a Reply

