Seven Quick Takes 24 June 2011

Thanks to Betty Beguiles for hosting while Jen of Conversion Diary recovers from the birth of her new daughter.

Random Takes for a Random Day

-One-

If you like to text, don’t get Botox. No, really. This story is about a young lady who had Botox for sweaty palms, and then found it difficult to send text messages. In case you didn’t know, Botox is not just for wrinkles. Its use against hyperhydrosis seems to be a little more medically sound to me.

-Two-

I made jam. I have actually made jam before, but this time I did something really neat: I made jam in my Breadman. Maybe I have mentioned this before, but I love my Breadman. I feel like homemade is healthier, even though jam is still full of white sugar. At least it doesn’t have high fructose corn syrup like some (most) jam you buy in a store.

-Three-

This post on Father Z.’s blog. I love the photo of Pope Benedict kissing the baby. Ad.or.a.ble.

-Four-

Today is the celebration of the birth of Saint John the Baptist. I love how the unborn John recognized Jesus (also unborn) and leapt for joy in his mother’s womb (Luke 1:41)

-Five-

I’ve been making some changes around the blog. I got a new theme, which I find beautiful, in Holy Mary’s blue. Also, my new tagline, 1 Corinthians 8:2, because as much as I may be hungry to know, I am learning that knowledge is not all it is cracked up to be.

“Knowledge” puffs up, but love builds up. If any one imagines that he knows something, he does not yet know as he ought to know. But if one loves God, one is known by him.
-1 Cor 8:1b-3

-Six-

I’m also making changes around the blog because I’m on the fence about whether I want to continue with it. I guess I either don’t know how to get people to read, or I don’t know what to say, so I am struggling with whether it is worth it. I think it is important to have something to say on a blog. It would be easy to just kind of write a diary, but it would be either boring or too revealing. I don’t know, I’m torn.

-Seven-

I am a postulant in the Lay Dominican Fraternity, and if everything goes right, I will be recieved as a novice in the fall. Lay Dominicans dedicate their lives to God and the Church according to Four Pillars: prayer, study, apostolate, and community. I was so attracted to this group because of the emphasis on study, since I love to learn. I am excited about growing in the Faith, and I love the community aspect of getting together with others who have dedicated themselves to live this way. The Dominicans have a motto (actually, they have three, but this is the one I really want to share): “To contemplate and to give to others the fruits of our contemplation.” To me, this means that I should study and pray, and based on what I learn, and what is revealed to me, I should tell God’s good and holy news, and I should work to help others and teach them about Jesus.

If you want to see more Quick Takes, or join in the fun, visit Hallie at Betty Beguiles.

2 thoughts on “Seven Quick Takes 24 June 2011

Leave a Reply

