Clean Hippie: Clean House

Even if I wasn’t so environmentally conscious I would still use baking soda and vinegar for cleaning my house. They don’t make me sneeze or feel sick to my stomach, or dry out my skin when I clean with them like harsh chemical cleaners do.

Vinegar has many uses for cleaning around the house. I use plain white vinegar for:

  • cleaning glass windows and mirrors
  • shining tiles
  • as a mild disinfectant for cutting boards
  • cleaning up pet puddles
  • getting rid of funky odors in the garbage disposal
  • cleaning my iced tea maker
  • as a fabric softener in the washing machine

I have a spray bottle of 50/50 vinegar and tap water that I use around the house for cleaning. I have heard you can also add essential oils to make it smell nice, but I kind of like the smell (except when it’s mixed with pet yuck).

Baking soda is very useful as a mild abrasive. You can use it wherever you might use Comet or a similar scouring powder. Here are some of the things I use it for (and a link to more):

  • scrubbing my white kitchen sink
  • cleaning my stove’s glass cooktop
  • powering baked-on gunk off of pans
  • sprinkling over the trash can to control odors
  • freshening up carpet

One of my favorite uses for both baking soda and vinegar is something I call the volcano, like your science fair project. Only instead of a science experiment, it is a great way to clean, clear and deodorize drains. Funnel about 1/2 cup of baking soda into the drain, followed by an equal amount of vinegar. Let it work for at least five minutes, then follow with hot water. I guess you can use hot tap water, but I like water heated in the teakettle. Finally, give it a cold rinse. Your drain should flow beautifully.

What’s your favorite household use for baking soda or vinegar?

This post is linked to Simple Lives Thursday.

Leave a Reply

