Clean Hippie: Update

Well, how am I keep up?

I’m definitely not blogging enough. I just can’t stand to look at the computer when I’m at home. That makes e-mail communication a little dicey, although I do check my mail and Facebook on my cell phone.

Ahem, now then.

OCM: I am still doing oil cleansing, but I have been contemplating honey. Crunchy Betty had a honey face-washing challenge going on last month. Of course, I’m late to the party, but I might try it.

With oil (50/50 castor oil and olive oil), I have fewer flakes, fewer blackheads, and my skin looks less shiny (imagine that). However, I have noticed some tiny bumps on my temples. This drove me to try using my old C.linique soap for a couple of days, and boy, do I regret it. My face got dry and red. The pimples I do have were redder and some were even scabby looking, despite the fact that I didn’t pick at them. I guess that natural is the way to go for me.

No ‘Poo: I love it! I have cut back to washing my hair with baking soda and rinsing with apple cider vinegar only on Saturday night or Sunday morning each week. On the other days, if I shower, I scrub my scalp and my bangs a little with just water. Just water. I know you might think it’s gross, but my hair is so healthy, soft and shiny. It isn’t greasy or smelly, and I can even wear it down when I haven’t “washed” it for 4 or 5 days. My next step is switching to raw apple cider vinegar, because I used up the rest of my conventional bottle soaking cucumbers in my fridge. Yum!

Reusable feminine products: I use them except when I am travelling. If I’m going to be away from home for more than 14 hours, I don’t have a bag large enough to hold enough clean and dirty pads. (I fold the dirty ones and put them in a sealed plastic bag until I get home and put them in to soak). I’m still sewing more, theoretically. I have some cut out, but I’ve been having trouble with my thumb, and crafts are just not comfortable now. I’m hoping to get back to sewing and crocheting, but for now, I’ve been occupying my time with books instead.

Natural Family Planning: Over two years of marriage and I haven’t been pregnant yet, darn it. I’d like to be, but we have to be responsible in the financial situation we’re in. We believe that a family with a child should have a place to live.

Natural Home Care: I’m still using my same methods with vinegar and baking soda, but over on Facebook, my cousin turned me on to borax. She even shared her recipe for homemade laundry detergent. I’m hoping to try it soon. Meanwhile, I keep searching. This week I plan to try cleaning my wood floors with a little warm water and vinegar. I use a steam (water-only) mop on the tiled floors, but I don’t want to damage the wood floors with too much water. With our pets, our floors have become a little spotty looking. I’m hoping this will help. I just need to find something non-toxic for the few carpeted areas we have.

Sunblock, deodorant, lotion, etc. Hmmm… not going so great. I have just been taking my chances in  the sun and staying out of it most of the time. I haven’t used sunscreen or sunblock, or had a sunburn. I haven’t been daring enough to try making my own deodorant. I would like to find beeswax to keep it solid, but I don’t want to buy it online. I have a few ideas of where to search… I will get to that soon, yes soon. As far as lotion, I haven’t made any, but I have been using coconut oil on my arms and legs. It makes them nice and soft, but if you use too much, it is a mess!

I am committed to this lifestyle change. I will let you in on the developments I make. It’s so much fun to experiment, and thinking that it is better for my body, my pocketbook, and the environment makes me feel good.

Leave a Reply

