Catechising Catholic Adults

My husband spoke with a man we don’t know very well yesterday, and he told us that he and his gorgeous young family had left our parish to go to another parish that has a reputation for being even more orthodox. One of his reasons was that he said he was tired of catechising Catholic adults. He thought that it shouldn’t be necessary to teach adults the way things should be. I’m not sure if this was the breaking point for his family, but it left an impression on me.

I have two thoughts about this:

  1. Thank God that someone was willing to catechize me. I am a cradle Catholic. I briefly left the Church in my early to mid twenties. I came back with crazy ideas about contraception and who should be ordained. I am so glad that there are people out there who were willing to share with me, either personally or by way of radio, television, or books, why things are the way they are, and why it matters.
  2. If there are Catholic adults out there who don’t know the Faith well enough, I would rather teach the Truth than run away. I pray that the Holy Spirit inspires me to help others out of their ignorance and apathy. I want people to see the beauty of the Faith.

I want to get to Heaven, but more importantly, I want other people to get there.

Leave a Reply

