New Goo

It would be good if I could always remember where I find things on the internet. Unfortunately, this is not the case.I discovered a recipe for “unpetroleum jelly” this weekend. I’ve been looking for something natural to moisturize my scaly hands, and this sounded like the stuff. I made some and I love it. My hands are much smoother, and it only has two ingredients.

Of course, I can’t share the original link, but I can tell you what I did. It was very easy and this stuff is wonderful.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup olive oil

1 ounce (weight) beeswax

Procedure:

  1. Chop or grate beeswax. Every few chops, put what you’ve chopped on the scale. Try not to swear as you realize that you could have about a cubic yard of chopped beeswax before you would have a pound. Thank God that you only need an ounce.
  2. Melt the beeswax in the top of a double boiler.
  3. Stir in the oil.
  4. Try not to swear as you see the wax flake up, and decide that next time you will put them both in the double boiler together. Stir over the double boiler until it’s nice and smooth.
  5. Pour into a clean container. I used a sterilized yeast jar (yes, I make bread often enough to need to buy yeast in a jar). Don’t get any on you. It will burn. Ask me how I know.
  6. Watch it solidify. Marvel at what you have made.
  7. Clean your tools with a paper towel before they cool and before you wash them.
  8. Smear your goo on clean hands. Rub it in good.

I have also read when you make this kind of stuff, if you don’t like the consistency, you can remelt and tweak. Mine is a little too solid, so next time I make some I will put a little less wax. I might add the oil from a vitamin E capsule or two, too– this acts as a preservative.

And that next time will be tonight because when I told my friend Rebecca about it she instantly said “Make me some.” Her hands were even worse than mine:  they looked like they hurt from the cracks in the sides of her fingers. It must be something about having two kids in diapers. I hope she loves her new goo. I know I like mine.

2 thoughts on “New Goo

Leave a Reply

