The Holy Twins

I love children’s books! I pick them up from time to time, when I’m looking for a short read with little commitment.

The Holy Twins by Kathleen Norris, with illustrations by Tomie dePaola tells the story of St. Benedict and his twin sister St. Scholastica. I have always loved Tomie dePaola’s illustrations and the illustrations in this book are inspiring, detailed, and adorable. The childhood of the twin saints is briefly recounted, as is the famous story of their visit after both had entered their respective monasteries. They would visit with each other one day each year, but this time Scholastica was enjoying their spiritual conversation so much that she begged her brother not to go. He insisted that he must leave, so she began to pray, and suddenly a violent storm popped up out of nowhere, forcing Benedict and his brother monks to remain there overnight.

The Holy Twins is both entertaining and informative. It even includes suggestions for further reading. I would recommend it for children ages 6-12.

7 thoughts on “The Holy Twins

  1. What a neat idea for a children’s book. I really liked Kathleen Norris’ “Acedia and Me.” I didn’t even know what acedia WAS but I definitely recognized it in myself. It’s always nice to name something in order get a better handle on it.

      • Some of my favorite authors did that: C.S. Lewis and Madeleine L’Engle. (I’m not sure about Tolkien….)

      • I love Lewis and L’Engle, too! As far as Tolkien… I liked The Hobbit. I read it when I was young (11 or 12). And I trudged through the Lord of the Rings trilogy. I was told not to bother with The Silmarilion (sp?) because of my difficulty with the Lord of the Rings. I know a lot of folks read them, and as children… It just wasn’t my thing. I have never read any of L’Engle’s books for adults. I’m going to have to get one on my list for this year.

      • I actually didn’t particularly like the Narnia series but I enjoyed pretty much all other Lewis writing. L’Engle’s “And It Was Good” was an interesting perspective on Genesis, and she had a truly beautiful interpretation of the birth of Abel and what she imagined Adam and Eve going through. “The Irrational Season” I read a few years ago when I was just coming back to Christianity, it’s much more biographical.

Leave a Reply

