I Can’t Follow Rules

(Well, usually I can, but today… nah.)

The reason I’m telling you this is because among bloggers, a “Question Game” is going around, where you tag people and ask them to answer certain questions. Unfortunately, Katie tagged ALL OF CATHSORORITY , so that greatly reduces the number of people I can tag, because most of the other blogs I read, I just read, or this is totally outside their scope. Nevertheless, I’ll play along, and if you want to, you can play along, too.

These are the “rules:”

  1. The first rule is to post these rules. Check!
  2. Post a photo of yourself then write 11 things about you/your life.
  3. Answer the questions for you set in the original post.
  4. Create 11 new questions and tag people to answer them.
  5. Go to their blog/twitter to tell them you have tagged them.

I am going to do 1-3. That is all. If you want to play too, you can play however you like to play.

Cracking up on my wedding day

Eleven Things About Me:

1. I like to cook from scratch. My co-workers are amazed because I make yogurt, bake bread, and make salad dressing. These things are not difficult, so I’m not so impressed with myself.

2. I love dogs, but I have a cat and four rabbits. No dogs for us. Every time we’re walking or driving and I see a dog, I talk to it.

3. I have sung in church choirs, youth choirs and folk groups since I was six years old. I can remember remaining kneeling in the choir area during Communion when I hadn’t yet received my First Communion so the extraordinary minister wouldn’t try to give me Communion.

4. I grew up wanting to be an artist, a singer, a veterinarian and a mother. I am a secretary and wife who sings at church.

5. I have degrees in elementary education and library science. I don’t feel that I’m wasting my education, except when I pay my student loan bills.

6. I don’t like soda. It makes my stomach hurt. Sometimes I forget, though, or have no option, so I drink it anyway.

7. I’ve always wanted to live within walking distance of church. Except when I did, then I didn’t really care… and I went to Mass quite seldom. Ah, Peace Corps days.

8. My favorite movie is The Princess Bride. I love the scene where Inigo and Fezzik are rhyming. Anybody want a peanut?

9. Brett and I went to Ohio Amish Country on our honeymoon. It was so peaceful. Even though we were only there for three days, I was greatly relaxed by just being there after all the wedding planning and wedding hoopla.

10. I have two siblings, a brother and a sister. I’m the oldest. I don’t think they read this blog. Comment if I am wrong.

11. My favorite color is purple. Maybe that’s why I dig Advent and Lent so much. My bridesmaids’ dresses at my wedding were purple, too, but we got married during the Easter season.

Now, Katie’s questions:

1. Weirdest class you’ve ever taken?
Probably the creative writing class I had my senior year of high school. Or maybe Creighton Model NFP instruction. That was pretty weird – to learn how the female reproductive system actually works was an eye-opener.
2. If you could only eat 2 foods ever again what would they be?
That’s hard! I was trying to think about foods that are healthy, but it’s hard to think of healthy food that wouldn’t get boring in about a day. I think I’ll go with fun, then- good pizza for 1 (it has four food groups, right?) and dark chocolate. MMM…
3. What’s your go-to belt it out in the car song?
I’m not sure I have a go-to song, but I like to sing The Phantom of the Opera in the car. Only if no one else is there because no matter how well I might sing, I’m a mezzo-soprano, not Christine Daaé. No one wants to hear that screeching.
4. What’s the most OCD thing you do?
I wash my hands twice after using the restroom. I also like to sharpen pencils. I mean I can’t use a dull pencil. It makes my eyes hurt. I definitely have some OCD tendencies.
5. Favorite high school memory?
Singing at Carnegie Hall with the “Kentucky Youth Chorale.” That whole trip to New York City was an awesome experience.
6. Won’t you share your opinion on camping? Love it or hate it?
I have mixed feelings about camping. I like the idea of camping, but I don’t like bugs, or sleeping on the ground, or damp nights. But we had a great time camping as a family when I was a kid. It is definitely something I want to be part of my future children’s lives.
7. Weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten?
Panza de res- Guatemalan beef stomach. It has a very yummy sauce made with pepitas and I don’t know what else, but the stomach itself is like trying to chew rubber.
8. E-reader or real book reader and why?
Real book reader: I don’t have an e-reader! But I’d like to have one. I do read books on my netbook, but I can’t carry it around with me, really.
9. Favorite TV show currently on?
I don’t guess Downton Abbey is currently on, but I love it. So beautiful!
10. What’s your favorite award you’ve won?
I haven’t won a lot of awards lately. I keep it low-key. I won a 4.0 Award (based on my weighted GPA) in high school. I did get some B’s and a C, but I got this award anyway because we got more credit for honors and advanced placement classes.
11. What’s your claim to fame?
I have no claim to fame. I’m not nearly as humble as I should be, but I’m humble enough to know this. On the other hand, I can touch my nose with my tongue.
7 thoughts on “I Can’t Follow Rules

Leave a Reply

