Wheat Belly

By William Davis, MD

A book review in 140 characters or less… and then some.

Is wheat a drug? Davis says yes- a drug that makes you fat and foggy. This book is food for thought, and quite revolutionary.

That’s my review in 140 characters or less. Here’s more of my take:

I checked out Wheat Belly because I read a suggestion somewhere that giving up wheat and unfermented dairy might help me get rid of the dyshidrotic eczema I have on my hands and feet. This condition ranges from annoying to painful, with tiny itchy blisters on my fingers, toes, palms and soles. Every so often I have a flare-up, and it drives me nuts. I read Wheat Belly just because I wanted to know what I could eat if I didn’t eat wheat. I can’t imagine giving up something so central and traditional to our culture! However, I do believe that Dr. Davis has a point. He backs it up with a lot of studies. I still am not giving up wheat completely, but I have cut back drastically. I haven’t lost any weight yet, but I feel like I’m eating healthier. I haven’t had any flare-ups yet this month. Who knows what it will be next…

Leave a Reply

