Bishop Paprocki on Voting

“A vote for a candidate who promotes actions or behaviors that are intrinsically evil and gravely sinful makes you morally complicit and places the eternal salvation of your own soul in serious jeopardy.”

 Bishop Thomas J. Paprocki of Springfield, IL

I think that in many cases, it may be dangerous for your soul to vote for either candidate (I am not speaking solely of this year’s presidential election). Voting is a right and privilege which requires great prayer, study, and consideration.

4 thoughts on “Bishop Paprocki on Voting

  1. Ugh, yes this is so hard for me. I feel like I can’t vote for EITHER but I also feel like I’m sinning if I stay silent. And I don’t know if a write in is a total cop out. Sigh.

    • I don’t even know who I would write in. I already know which one I’m voting for: the lesser of two evils, in my opinion.

  2. I can understand the desire to not vote at all (or to write someone in), but I think it’s possible to vote for “sometimes pro-life Romney” with the hope that he’ll either A) firm up his rhetoric or B) appoint pro-life Supreme Court Justices (of which four are nearing the time for replacement). In this particular election, I really can’t see not voting as a viable option.

    • I think I agree. I definitely don’t see not voting as a viable option. It’s our duty as citizens and as Catholics.

Leave a Reply

