What I’ve Been Eating

I’ve been on a gluten-free and dairy-free diet since January 4. When the doctor suggested that I do this, I wasn’t sure what I would ever eat, but I have found it fairly easy except for one evening when we were at a catered dinner. In the future, I will call ahead. The problem will be eating away from home. When I prepare the food, I know what is in it.

Breakfasts

Green smoothies – a combination of coconut milk or almond milk with banana and/or berries and spinach or kale and sometimes maple syrup or almond butter

Eggs, any style with fruit

Leftovers

Lunches

Usually leftovers

Salad

Rice cakes with almond butter and fruit

Dinners

I’ll just tell you what I’ve had the last few dinners:

Chicken soup with rice and veggies

Hamburgers with no bun or cheese, carrot salad, broccoli

Grilled chicken breast with frozen fiesta veggies

White bean chicken chili

Broiled fish with baked sweet potato and green beans

Tonight we’re going to have cinnamon chicken, mashed potatoes and salad. It smells delicious.

Last night we actually went out for tacos. We went out for dinner!

 

My coworker Sandy pointed out to me that I would be suffering if I didn’t know how to cook from scratch, but I think a gluten-free diet is possible cooking from mixes and prepared food… but it would cost a lot more. We are frugal and poor. I don’t want to do that.

I have never eaten gluten-free bread. I haven’t had a cookie since 2012. But I’m eating well and I feel healthy. That’s what it’s all about.

6 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Eating

  1. Can you cook for me? πŸ™‚

    I do eat GF bread (I like sandwiches, especially grilled cheese – oh, and I refuse to go dairy-free), but I, like you, try to just make things from scratch/without gluten instead of a subsittute b/c it’s so expensive.

    When I do bake or do anything that requires flower, I usually use Pamela’s Baking and Pancake Mix (they have a new “Artisan Flour” that I haven’t tried yet) and it works out really well most of the time.

    • I haven’t tried baking yet, except with GF Bisquick.

      I think you’re a little too far away for me to cook for you πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

