Timely Quote Tuesday

You formed my inmost being;

you knit me in my mother’s womb.

I praise you, because I am wonderfully made;

wonderful are your works!

My very self you know.

My bones are not hidden from you,

When I was being made in secret,

fashioned in the depths of the earth.

Your eyes saw me unformed;

in your book all are written down;

my days were shaped, before one came to be.

Psalm 139: 13-16

Psalm 139 is one of my favorites. It makes me think of the tender care with which God has formed our bodies. One of my favorite tunes that runs through my head is based on Psalm 139: “O God, You Search Me and You Know Me” by Bernadette Farrell. I’d like to share a recording of it with you, but unfortunately I can’t find one with good audio. I have a CD that was given to me by a friend that includes this beautiful psalm. I unfortunately don’t know much about it because it is a copy and all the information I have is the handwritten title, “Sisters in Song.” On the CD, a women’s choir sings “psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs” (see Ephesians 5:19) anyway, this song is just gorgeous in this recording.

Last Tuesday I was at a Mass where this was the responsorial psalm and later I told Brett, “I figured out what the moving and poking is going on in my belly:  knitting needles.” As the Psalm says “You knit me in my mother’s womb.” And trust me, there’s a whole lot of knitting going on in there.

2 thoughts on “Timely Quote Tuesday

  1. The day you posted this is the day we discovered that we were having not one baby, but two!

    I have wanted to share my news with you for so long!

    Wonder Twin Parents: Activate! lol

Leave a Reply

