Memorial of St. Martha

July 29 is St. Martha’s Day. I took St. Martha’s name when I joined the Lay Fraternities of St. Dominic, partly because I’m “a Martha” and need some encouragement to be “a Mary” sometimes. Also, partly because of this, which inspires me, knowing that many women didn’t merit names in the Bible, or if they did, we don’t know what they ever said. I am inspired by the audacity of St. Martha’s faith:

Martha said to Jesus, “Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died. And even now I know that whatever you ask from God, God will give you.” Jesus said to her, “Your brother will rise again.” Martha said to him, “I know that he will rise again in the resurrection at the last day.” Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life; he who believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live, and whoever lives and believes in me shall never die. Do you believe this?” She said to him, “Yes, Lord; I believe that you are the Christ, the Son of God, he who is coming into the world.”

John 11:21-27 RSV

christ-in-the-house-of-martha-and-mary

Leave a Reply

