What I Ate Friday

WhatIAteFriday

I’m linking up with my friend Thomas at Identified Catholic for an Advent Catholic identity project: meatless Fridays. I always have meatless Fridays, as an act of penance, but this is not a common practice in today’s Catholic world. Meatless Fridays used to be a part of our culture, and Friday is still a day of penance, year round. We are permitted in the United States to choose another penance for Friday, but let’s face it:  who really does?

So, many people are trying meatless Fridays at a time other than Lent for the first time. And, we’re sharing what we eat. Without further ado, here is my December 7 dinner: cheap and relatively nasty:

Not a healthy meal, and not very penitential either. Except later. Later I regretted it because my stomach was killing me and I was feeling wrung out and exhausted. I guess I should have gotten a side salad and some water or iced tea instead of the diet-busting shake.  Next time I’m dashing between Mass and meetings and I have to eat something quick and cheap, I’ll remember that.

I think I’m getting to the point where I truly need to make some healthy changes in my diet.

3 thoughts on “What I Ate Friday

  1. Been doing it since shortly after I got married– partly because I was feeling very, very alone, religiously speaking! Took a few years to get to where my mind goes “Friday– no meat,” but it works well.

    We frequently have fish tacos– deep fry or bake a breaded fish strip, wrap in a tortilla with cabbage and dressing. (I usually use ranch.)
    Grilled cheese sandwiches, too.

Leave a comment